Lebanon Educational Foundation
  Hattie B. Stokes Elementary
  1005 Hendricks Dr.
  Lebanon, IN. 46052

Dwight Booher Cragun Superintendent's Award for Distinguished Teaching

The Dwight Booher Cragun Superintendent's Award for Distinguished Teaching is presented annually to a teacher selected by the Lebanon Superintendent of Schools as one whose meritorious service to education during the year deserves public recognition and support. A $2500 gift is made to the recipient to further develop his/her teaching skills and classroom effectiveness as a teacher in the Lebanon Community Schools.

The award is named for Dwight Booher Cragun who was the son of S.N. Cragun, former Lebanon High School Principal and Superintendent of Schools during the decade prior to his becoming publisher of the Lebanon Patriot from 1890 to 1913, a weekly newspaper antecedent to the Lebanon Reporter.

The gift is made in loving memory of Dwight Booher Cragun, a graduate of the Lebanon public schools who was distinguished in the financial world and who became a professor of finance/investments on the faculty of Indiana University during the 1930's. While his father was recognized as having improved the quality of teaching during his tenure as superintendent, Dwight was particularly concerned with helping the average student prepare for a University level education and worked to help many achieve that goal.


David S. Richey Award Recipient

This award is given to any business, individual, or family in the community who has gone above and beyond the norm through both a personal and financial commitment to support the efforts of the Lebanon Educational Foundation. The 2008 winners recognized at the Lebanon Educational Foundation and Lebanon Community School Corporation Annual Teacher Celebration were Kenneth and Rosalie Limp.

Previous winners include: